What Would You Like to Hear From the Pulpit?

As I was talking with our chaplain after Adoration the other day,
he said that he was preparing for a funeral.
I asked if he planned to mention Purgatory,
noting that we’d recently talked to someone
who thought the Catholic Church didn’t believe in Purgatory anymore
because “you never hear about it”.
He replied that yes, he is planning to reference Purgatory,
then asked, “What else do people need to hear from the pulpit?”
I mentioned sexual ethics & reproductive technology,
but said I’d have to think about it to come up with other topics.

What about you?
What do you wish priests would talk about at Mass?
Please leave your feedback in the “comments” box!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “What Would You Like to Hear From the Pulpit?”

  1. Helen Says:

    Hi,

    How about questioning the exception becoming the norm?

    I certainly would like to see priests addressing the lack of or little respect shown to Jesus in the Eucharist these days…

    When permission was granted for people to receive Eucharist on the hand it was not intended to abolish the reverence due to Jesus at holy communion, but we hardly see any-one receiving the Lord on the tongue anymore, let alone kneeling down… Which I certainly find sad.

    God bless,
    Helen

    http://www.divineblessings.wordpress.com


    • Thank you, Helen! I’ll pass this along…

      I completely agree with the concern about the lack of reverence for Jesus in the Eucharist–we make a point of emphasizing this reverence in our RCIA sessions, although as our participants (including the Catholic spouses & sponsors!) start to recognize the REALITY of Jesus’ Presence, the reverence tends to come naturally. Once people get the “why,” the “what” tends to follow (always encouraging to see the Holy Spirit at work!).

      We do receive on the tongue now–we began several years ago as a result of listening to Christopher West’s presentations on the Theology of the Body about being receptive to God. Several of our RCIA participants have followed our example.

      Also, although we prefer to kneel to receive communion, and do at churches that encourage that, most often my husband genuflects & I make a profound bow in deference to the bishops’ declaration. Perhaps as the turnover in the bishop’s conference continues, that’ll change.

      • Helen Says:

        I am happy to hear that you share my opinions.

        I am currently being trained to become a catechist, and I have been trying to gently bring the subject with my students whenever there is an opportunity. I say that although what counts is how we feel in our heart when we receive Jesus, there is no problem externalizing our reverence with a bow or genuflection as we approach our Eucharistic Lord.

        I also mention that there is a bigger chance that particles of the Consecrated Host be may lost and fall on the floor with the practice of receiving communion on the hand, than directly on the tongue.

        The kids seem to think these arguments make sense. Let us hope they will not forget it once they finish catechism!

        God bless,
        Helen


      • Actually, I come at the externals of reverence the other way around. Despite my best intentions, my heart may be as dry as a stick when I come to receive Jesus, but I know that He’s worthy of reverence, so I choose to act on what I know (by bowing before I receive Him and crossing my hands over my heart afterward) whether my feelings help me along or not. The actions usually help my heart get closer to where it should be.

        God bless your ministry with the children! I assume you’re putting your hopes into prayers :). The Holy Spirit has a way of nudging memories once you’ve given people something worth remembering!

        Blessings,
        Pussywillow


Leave a Reply

