God Did it First

Simply to be known and loved by [Jesus],
as [the Apostles] do in fact feel known and loved
by him,
unaccountably gives a new savor
of excellence and worth
to their poor lives.

~Erasmo Leiva Merikakis,
Fire of Mercy, Heart of the Word, Vol III
Meditations on the Gospel According to Matthew

Q: Why did God make me?
A: God made me to know Him, to love Him and to serve Him here on earth
and to be happy with Him forever in Heaven.
~Baltimore Catechism

God designed me to do for Him
what He did first for me!

He knows me, inside and out:

Before I formed you in the womb knew you
~Jeremiah 1:5

O Lord, You have probed me
and You know me;
You know when I sit and when I stand;
You understand my thoughts from afar (etc.)
~Psalm 139

He loves me:

As the Father has loved Me,
so I have loved you.
Live on in My love
~John 15:9

Love, then, consists in this:
not that we have loved God,
but that He has loved us
and has sent His Son as an offering for our sins…
We have come to know and to believe
in the love God has for us…
We, for our part, love
because He first loved us
I John 4:10, 16, 19

He serves me:

I AM in your midst as One Who serves you
~Luke 22:27

This is Truth
that needs to sink in,

to give a new savor of excellence and worth
to my poor life,
and give birth to a response–
that I may become who I am,
knowing Him,
loving Him,
serving Him
here on earth
in preparation for being happy with Him
forever
in Heaven.
Amen!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “God Did it First”


  1. Great post! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

